If I Had Known

image
If I had known
You were here
I would have come sooner

If I had known
You would listen
I would have let you hear

If I had known
Anyone would care at all
About what I had to say
I would have let my words
Spill out onto these pages
To speak my truth
A long, long time ago

If I had known
You would “Like” me
I wouldn’t have had so much fear

If I had known
You would respond
And ”Comment”
On what I had to say
I wouldn’t have lived in silence
All these years in this way

Thank you
For your kindness
It has brought me
To tears

It has touched
The broken places
And eased so many fears

I have met
Unexpected people
In this unexpected place

While family and friends
Have been strangers
Here strangers
Have become like friends

You have helped me
Break the silence
From all the pain
And the unshed tears

From all the unspoken words
Held captive
For way too many years

If I had only known
That you were here!

Thank you!

2 thoughts on “If I Had Known

Leave a Reply

