Tears

image

I cry

Every day I cry

I cry when I wake up

I cry when my cat shows me affection
when she snuggles on my lap

I cry at any kind gesture

I cry when I feel any hint of love

I cry when someone touches me

I cry when I write an email to a friend

I cry when I read an email from a friend

I cry when I text my children

I cry when I write my blog posts

I cry when I read my blog posts

I cry when I reply to a comnent on my blog

I cry as I write this

I cry when I go to sleep

I wake up in the middle of the night crying

I try to eat but I have cried so much
only a little food will do

I cry and I cry
and I cry
but there is no end
to this bottomless pit

How do all of these tears come
from this small frame?

You cannot cry a lifetime
of unshed tears
in a single day
in a month
or a year

So I will cry
and I will cry
and I will cry
until

9 thoughts on “Tears

        1. Yes, unfortunately I have learned this the hard way. I was imploding before I started this blog. Now I am paying for a lifetime of holding it all in. But at least now it speaks to me, often writes my poetry etc. And it is finally some release from an unbearable pressure.

          Liked by 2 people

  1. I have often wondered what makes us cry. To me it has something to do with perceiving my own helplessness , surrendering to my own emotions in a certain situation, being overwhelmed but allowing these emotions to exist and to express themselves outwardly. I guess the good thing about crying is that we allow our emotions to be there, that we do not deny their existence and find a way to release them. This is good, especially when we were not able to surface these emotions before.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I use to be terrified of my tears, that if I started they would never stop, and that the pain would be too crushing to face.

      But I have learned to lean into them instead of resisting them. Now I have to believe that they would not come if I could not handle them.

      Also, I have come to realize that you have to go through grief, there is no short cut around it.

      I have not done myself a favor holding it in all these years. Now it is just one big tangled mess!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

