Somewhere Over The Rainbow…

image
“…Somewhere over the rainbow
way up high
And the dreams that you dream of
once in a lullaby
…”

Abuse takes away your ability to dream.

It takes away every dream you ever had.

Life becomes about getting through each day being safe.

Just being safe!

And that seems like even too much to ask for.

Just being safe is all you are left wanting.

Nothing else matters!

Things lose there meaning.

You can’t be present to experience, what for others would be a dream come true.

Life becomes intense and filled with fear.

No one feels safe to you.

Life itself feels dangerous.

You become hyper vigilant because at any moment the worst could happen.

It is not a matter of if, but when.

This is a glimpse inside the heart of someone who has been abused…

Who’s only dream is to be safe!

“…Someday I wish upon a star
Wake up where the clouds are far behind me
Where trouble melts like lemon drops
High above the chimney top
That’s where you’ll find me

Oh, somewhere over the the rainbow
Way up high
And the dreams that you dare to dream
Why, oh why, can’t I?
…”

13 thoughts on “Somewhere Over The Rainbow…

  1. If only abuse had been reported when I was a little girl, I might have had the chance to be something. I might have been taken out of an abusive family and been taught how to have enough self-worth to not jump into an abusive marriage. I used to do the “star light, star bright” wish every night. It never worked for me.
    If only abuse had been reported……if only abuse had been reported.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I am so sorry for all that has happened to you. And unfortunately your words are the cry or countless others. I don’t know how we can say we care about children in society if we ignore their deepest cries for help.

      Sexual abuse is not an event in a child’s life, but rather the taking of a life. Thank you for sharing your thoughts and feelings. I wish they could be front page, headline news!!!

      Like

      1. I don’t know about other abused children but there used to be a “stigma” that followed the abused child…be it blaming them or treating them like they were broken and useless. I know that has followed me. People don’t understand why you don’t “just get over it.”

        Liked by 1 person

        1. And this is another huge problem! There is no such thing as just getting over it! Anyone who is going to be even remotely helpful needs to “get over” that notion!

          Like

Leave a Reply

