No One Told Me

image
No one told me
love would hurt

That love could feel
more like being burnt

No one told me
the deepest wounds
would bleed
without a trace

That pain
could be
impossible to face

No one told me
that while life was short
sorrow could last
forever

No one told me
you could be dead
and yet still alive

That it was possible
for no one
to even notice

No one told me
cruelty was
common place

That honesty
was a novelty

No one told me
to beware
of men

That they were
more like beasts

No one told me
that monsters
did not wear masks

That they often
appeared gentle
and kind instead

No one told me
you could cry
tears of blood

That would
have no end

No one told me
your heart
could break
into a million pieces

That others
would still expect
you to be
just like normal

No one told me
you could never
tell the truth

That everyone
lies to themselves
and you

No one told me
being broken
could be a life sentence

…or that hell
really came from
the hands of men

15 thoughts on “No One Told Me

  1. Many people don’t fear a hell after this life and that’s because hell is on this earth, in this life. In this life there are many forms of hell that people walk through, sometimes for a day, sometimes for years, sometimes it doesn’t end. The kind of hell that doesn’t burn your skin; but burns your soul. The kind of hell that people can’t see; but the flames lap at your spirit. Heaven is a place on earth, too! It’s where you feel freedom, where you’re not afraid. No more chains. And you hear your soul laughing.”
    ― C. JoyBell C.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. “…sometimes it doesn’t end. The kind of hell that doesn’t burn your skin; but burns your soul. The kind of hell that people can’t see; but the flames lap at your spirit…” A great description of abuse! Thank you for sharing this! As for heaven on earth, I don’t know how that can be if we don’t even have suitable punishment for evil men!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Experiencing love and friendship is my personal heaven on earth despite of the fact that I know that hell is all around me. I will not be able to save the world but hope to be able to contribute to make this world a little better for those I love and for those who love me. … and maybe by offerting resistance to those who abuse, and not accepting the evil, the pain and the destruction that they leave along their own dark path of life, I might claim some “space” back for those in search for love, and fulfillment in life…

        Liked by 1 person

        1. That is a beautiful and amazing approach to life… now we need to duplicate you times millions!!!!

          Thank you so much for your thoughts, your kindness, and your support! You really are amazing!

          Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

