If I Didn’t Have A Heart

image
If I didn’t have a heart
you could never have
ripped it apart

If I didn’t have a heart
your abuse could have been
more like a game

I would have never been so shy
and always asking myself why

If I didn’t have a heart
your anger and abuse
would not have felt like
I was being used

I wouldn’t have known
how unloved I really was

The pain and sorrow
would have never made me
die a slow death inside
until there was
nothing left of me

If I didn’t have a heart
it wouldn’t have hurt
when I needed you to help me
but instead you desired to use me

If I didn’t have a heart
you could have never
convinced me to trust you

If I didn’t have a heart
I wouldn’t have cared
when you preyed on my fears

It would have never mattered
that you abused me too

I would have been
no different than those things
the room
the bed
the chair

If I didn’t have a heart
I wouldn’t be filled with shame
I wouldn’t feel as though
I was the one to blame!

11 thoughts on “If I Didn’t Have A Heart

Leave a Reply

