If I Could

image
If I could unfold my heart and lay it down
Relinquish the sorrow and grief
Take back the innocence, the hope and dreams that would have been

If I could tell the truth
And not remain afraid
If the tears could all escape
The fears subside

If only strangers they would have been

If I could just forget
Their names and faces
The lies and the connections

If I could have just been
The object they had mistaken me for

Maybe, just maybe
After all these years
It would not hurt still

If I could feel value and worth

If only it hadn’t been dangerous
To be innocent and trusting

If I could feel whole

Only pieces are left
Fragments are all that remain

If only…

If I could only just feel safe…

11 thoughts on “If I Could

Leave a Reply

