The Scars Left Behind

image
The scars left behind
Are the ones you cannot see
The scars left behind
Are the ones deep inside of me

For each tear I cried
For every fear inside
There is a piece of me that died

The scars left behind
Are the ones I have to hide

The scars left behind
Are the ones I cannot beat
For each fear I have
And every doubt
It makes me retreat
And shut others out

The scars left behind
Create endless struggles
That make nothing seem clear
For each trigger they invoke
Makes me freeze
With a paralyzing fear

The scars left behind
Create the silent screams
That no one can hear

The scars left behind
Make me pull away
And want to run
They make it difficult to stay

The scars left behind
Remain a part of me
On the outside so perfect
Calm and put together
No one sees the hidden torture
Remaining deep inside of me

The scars left behind
Are the ones that still hurt
No matter how hard I’ve tried
The scars left behind
Hold all the tears
I never cried

The scars left behind
Hold all the memories
I cannot find

16 thoughts on “The Scars Left Behind

  1. Absolutely phenomenal work. With such a powerful subject you delivered it perfectly. The words were simple but put together in a way that perfectly describes the pain and despair of feeling this way. I am completely blown away by this piece. Love it.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I am aware with every piece I write, that it is a pain shared by countless others. This is both fulfilling and deeply sad… Thank you for your kind words. Our voices all unite, as one crying in the wilderness! Hopefully some day we will be heard, really heard!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Thank you so much for expressing the feelings that so many of us survivors of rape experience. Your work is absolutely stunning. Strength and love to you fellow survivor!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. “Other times, I look at my scars and see something else: a girl who was trying to cope with something horrible that she should never have had to live through at all. My scars show pain and suffering, but they also show my will to survive. They’re part of my history that’ll always be there.”
    by Cheryl Rainfield

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

