On The Wings of Words

image
On the wings of words
a heart’s anguish flies
of silent screams
and hidden tears

Of broken pieces scattered
from the cruelty of human hands
of love withheld
and carelessness

Wake up soul
wake up
fly high
on the wings of words
you can fly
you can soar

On the wings of words
there is no need to hide

They can ignore you
and try still to bruise
what is already broken
but on the wings of words
you fly

Fly, fly
fly high
on the wings of words
without refrain

You can try to hurt me
I recognize your intent
it has all been tried before
without relent

Many before have pierced this soul
they had no love inside to give
they stood with mockery
in their hearts
they lied, deceived
and felt bigger too

My soul pulled away
to protect the hurt
I can do it again
I’ve been here before

The thick solid door
requires two hands
and all my strength
to slam it shut

I may cry and cry…
at least it will be
behind MY closed door

But I can still fly high
on the wings of words

on the wings of words
I can fly
I can soar

Fly, fly
fly high
on the wings of words
fly high

7 thoughts on “On The Wings of Words

Leave a Reply

