My Shadow

image
I stand on the edge of darkness
The moon held in captivity
As the stars fall one by one
Tumbling down from the sky

The sun has already abandoned the day
As the moon’s light slowly dims
And almost completely darkens the night
Everything rebelling
Putting up a fight

I passed by my shadow
As I walked by a tree
The grass wasn’t growing
The leaves weren’t green
The darkness was growing
Vast and wide and deep

There was a void in my presence
Something I couldn’t see
My shadow said it all
It was dark and silent
Filled with grief and agony

It doesn’t lie
It told the truth

My shadow was the reflection
Of everything that is dark and helpless
Deep inside of me

9 thoughts on “My Shadow

  1. I love this poem. I think we’ve all had moments when we’ve peered at our shadows for company or understanding or in this case reflection. Sometimes when I have a disagreement with my husband, I’ll look for my shadow and say, “Can you believe this guy?” as a way of breaking the ice, ha ha. Thanks for sharing! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

      1. My pleasure and thank you for sharing! Ha ha, I’m glad that you liked the shadow story. It usually gets chuckle out of my husband too, at times when we need it the most. 😉 Hope you have a great night! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

