A Dream Within A Dream

image
The following is a poem
by Edgar Allan Poe:

A Dream Within A Dream

Take this kiss upon the brow!
And, in parting from you now,
Thus much let me avow-
You are not wrong, who deem
That my days have been a dream;
Yet if hope has flown away
In a night, or in a day,
In a vision, or in none,
Is it therefore the less gone?
All that we see or seem
Is but a dream within a dream.

I stand amid the roar
Of a surf-tormented shore,
And I hold within my hand
Grains of the golden sand-
How few! yet how they creep
Through my fingers to the deep,
While I weep- while I weep!
O God! can I not grasp
Them with a tighter clasp?
O God! can I not save
One from the pitiless wave?
Is all that we see or seem
But a dream within a dream?

*******

My answer to Poe would have been, and my answer to you and to myself is:

That is why God provided an endless supply of sand… to hold again and again and again!

Meaning, that we can relax and enjoy every moment because there is more to see and feel and experience over and over again. The sand or current experience may trickle through our fingers, but there is no need to hold on tight. God has given us an endless supply of sand and experiences. Especially for our souls. And even more so when we love!!!

I am aware that this is especially difficult when bad things have happened to us. Anxiety fills us even in these good moments. But it is important to know it can be different. And with time and love, this is the goal: to experience life as it should be. To know that we can be loved. And once we experience that enough, hopefully we can begin to live peacefully and fully in the moment. One moment at a time!

These deep emotions he expresses come in many forms. Anguish over wanting the pain inside us to end, and for hope to come again. And then often to our surprise, once again whenever we do experience love or joy. It is easy to clench our fists tight not wanting these moments to ever end when we have been starved for so long. And equally so, the anguish of the pain of finally knowing and experiencing love. These happen to me often. Sometimes just through the words of a song. We know how life should be. Now we long to know it in a way that lets us relax to the point where we can actually enjoy the “sand” just running through our fingers with the assurance that there is more for us, much, much more!

Leave a Reply

