Your Message In A Bottle

image
You came when it was dark
the pain of loss and sorrow
hung heavy on the trees

The sun refused to shine
just a glimpse from time to time
checking to see
if it was safe to glow

Lost in the storm
the winds carried me
to a thousand islands
each one alone

You were not there!

Hope was lost
alone with destiny
depriving my soul of joy

Where were you?

My soul longed to be known
to touch that of your tender heart
to know the fullness of your soul
the cries of your heart

I’ve cried endless tears
known despair and an aloneness
that threw me into a blackness

There was no way out!

I was sure my soul
would never know the fullness
of being known
the joy of sharing without words
a love that is not of this world
it was before time began
and will be for time without end

There is no shortness to its existence
it is not just passing through
it has become a part of me
you are as I know myself
there is no me a part from
what I now know to be us

I am now safe
I am free
the storm clouds parted
the day you arrived

With you the sun shines
joy entered my soul
I love you with a love my friend
that misses you when you are gone

Your voice is familiar
and my soul needs to hear
that comforting sound
that draws me back
into the safety of us

I have searched and searched
without knowing what I needed
until the day you arrived
your message in a bottle
upon the shore of my blog!

25 thoughts on “Your Message In A Bottle

  1. Here is a quote by Paul Celan I found: A poem, as a manifestation of language and thus essentially dialogue, can be a message in a bottle, sent out in the –not always greatly hopeful-belief that somewhere and sometime it could wash up on land, on heartland perhaps. Poems in this sense too are under way: they are making toward something. Toward what? Toward something standing open, occupiable, perhaps toward an addressable Thou, toward an addressable reality.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, poems somehow break through the barriers of communication. It is a way of communicating with words that are often hard to access or express any other way. In many ways poetry found me. I think I had too many feelings that cannot be expressed any other way. So in that sense if you took poetry away, many would be silenced. Thank you Jens!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

