Never Meant To Be

image
I never dreamed
I would be divorced
a broken family

I had dreams
of my children together
in our home
filling a lifetime of memories

I never dreamed
I would be held captive
by anger and abuse

Silenced

I never dreamed 
you would tear our lives apart

I never dreamed
my life would break my heart

I never dreamed
the pain could be so deep
that after I was free
the dreams I had
would make me weep and weep

I never knew they were so deep…

I cannot bear to celebrate
it is just a reminder
of all those lost dreams
of children
the lost laughter and love

I was prepared to love and give
nothing prepared me
for what happened instead
I didn’t know
you would never let us live

I didn’t know
it was never meant to be…

I didn’t know you were a monster
filled with cruelty!

5 thoughts on “Never Meant To Be

Leave a Reply

