A Dream Come True

Was I only dreaming when you took me

when I was held in captivity
held by the chains of your power
to break my spirit

Was I really so scared that I had to forget
most of what you did to me

Did it really go on and on
for years without end

Has my life been silent, alone

Does this sadness
that runs deep inside of me
come from your hands
that crippled me

Do you remember
can you see
I was alive
it was me
hidden underneath the scars
the wounds you inflicted upon me

Were your lies and deciet
hidden so deep
no one could see

Was I really the only one who knew

A prisoner
with no need of bars
or walls
or a cell

Left all alone
when you were through

It would be a dream come true
if I had never known you!

9 thoughts on “A Dream Come True

  1. Blue, I wish I could find words for what I feel when I read this. It makes me terribly sad to think about what you have gone through and still are going through. The past cannot be changed. So my dream come true for you goes to all the moments to come that will allow you to experience joy and fulfillment in life.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

