Starting Over, Again

starting-over-again

These past few weeks have been very stressful for us, for many reasons.

My husband had his surgery and things ended with Lucy within just a few days of each other. I ended up having episodes of panic and experienced a nightmare that was revealing of some painful things from my past I have not faced. The stress was palpable and I found myself withdrawing.

My husband did a search for therapists who specialize in trauma and PTSD and then sent me a link. I looked through seven pages of therapists and finally narrowed it down to four. I made a list of questions and did a phone interview with each of them. From these conversations, I narrowed it down to two. I made an appointment with both of them last week hoping something would make the decision clear. It ended up not being as easy as I had hoped. I struggled for a while, but as time passed I was able to process each appointment and make a decision. This process was very emotionally exhausting.

I am hoping for the best, once again. The woman I chose has her PhD. and is a Clinical Psychologist with over 30 years of experience. She certainly has displayed more knowledge, presence, and compassion than I have ever received from a therapist thus far. Her name is Sandy. I have only met with her once, but I do believe this will be a much better experience than the last. From our initial phone conversation and this first visit, she quickly was able to grasp and perceive what I am struggling with.

My husband is recovering slowly but surely and I am grateful for that. It has been nice having him here during this time.

18 thoughts on “Starting Over, Again

  1. Blue, I am so sooty that you had to go through all of this. I’ m hoping that in the end it will all be well worth it and put you on a path to health and happiness. Here’s hoping Sandy works out, you certainly did your homework. Love the pic you selected! ❤️☀️ Barney

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

