“Complex Trauma: Understanding and Treatment”

The following video is one of the best videos I have watched on Complex PTSD.

If you suffer from C-PTSD, it will be very emotional to watch. But it will also be very validating of all that you went through and help you to understand your reactions to life. And will also confirm why it is important to be kind to yourself and to take care of yourself.

If you have not experienced trauma, this is the perfect video to understand those who have.

It is well worth watching for everyone.

Complex Trauma: Understanding and Treatment  by Diane Langberg

33 thoughts on ““Complex Trauma: Understanding and Treatment”

  1. I’m watching now. Thank you so much for posting this. I had not come across it. I’m on YT all the time. lol

    I need her as a therapist. I have had the worst experience with therapists and the lack of understanding of C-PTSD.

    There is also a few videos in the side bar on YT alongside this video that look good too that I will be watching. Again, many thanks.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You are welcome. I also have gone through a nightmare with therapists. I recently found a very good one. The key for me was to specifically look for one that specializes in trauma. Most therapists will tell you they can help you with trauma, but that is not true. I have also watched several other videos of hers and have a few more I want to watch. She is excellent. I am glad this was helpful to you too.

      Like

      1. I have asked specifically if they specialize in trauma as well and have gotten yes answers from therapists who have turned out to be clueless. The last therapist was a real nightmare. I only have access to those covered by public assistance so the pickens are slim. I am hoping to get into a DBT program but need to wait for the appt with the psychiatrist first. I have gotten to the point of understanding what learned helplessness really is and it’s a scary place to be.
        Anyway:
        I think this one is the follow up and has she gives some ideas of how to self regulate. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4n8ydiaWmNc

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Yes, I have experienced the same. I did research online and did several phone interviews first, asking specific questions to gain some insight from their answers. I narrowed it down from there and then tried two for a short time, which still did not work out. This was after many failures with therapists in my past. I tried again making phone calls first, and finally found a good match. I don’t think it is easy at all to find a good therapist. Even though it is very hard to do, and feels impossible, we need to be able to walk away when we know someone is not good for us. I am so sorry you are going through this. My heart goes out to you. It is a very painful process. There are some support groups that are often free, which might be an option for you in the meantime. I do hope you can find the support you need and deserve. Thank you!

          Liked by 1 person

  2. Reblogged this on Patricia J Grace and commented:
    Excellent! To hear a professional confirm what I already know. Tears fall while listening, also the typical morning anxiety melts because another person acknowledges I’m on the right track in my healing journey…learn self-kindness is paramount with so much more.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I have only just rececently come to see the layers of simultaneous trauma that took place in my life as a child. So many of them I didn’t even see the gravity of the effects they have had on me. I only have seen or talked about the “big” ones. As a child, when all the adults… everyone accepts what is going on as normal, the abuse and trauma becomes “normal” to you. This was very emotional to watch. For those of us who have experienced trauma in our lives, it was as if SHE was laying our lives and our stories at OUR feet. It is very validating. I am glad that this was meaningful to you too! Thank you for sharing it on your blog as well. I think many will find meaning from it.

      Like

    1. Thank you for the reblog. It is my hope that it will help many trauma survivors understand themselves better. And that it will also help those who have not experienced trauma to gain a deep understanding of those of us who have.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. I get why you feel this way. It is hard to face the effects of trauma in your life. I cried while watching this too. It is very painful to see yourself through her words. But I can assure you that it will also validate your feelings and help you to understand why you feel the way you do, and react to life the way you do. And hopefully find some compassion for yourself. And see why you need support and help dealing with the pain and trauma. And why we need to stay present in our lives and in therapy and not run. This isn’t something we can do on our own. Our lives are a testimony to that fact. I am sorry for everything you have gone through. Therapy is not easy. But with the right therapist, it can be a safe place to process what happened. I do hope that when you feel strong enough, you will watch it through, even through the tears. I think you will be glad you did. Thank you for sharing. My heart goes out to you!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thank you. What I find hard right now, is loosing my love of my life through the actions of another on me 25 years ago. It’s all flared up recently. He has been telling me to get help but I was not ready to face my demons. I needed to be sure he would stay with me whilst I confronted it. Because I didn’t even understand why I was lashing out I didn’t get help. I didn’t even accept it. I couldn’t because it hurts so bad. Now he has moved on and found someone else. I am now left alone to go and get help without him. I think I’m dirty and disgusting and his rejection has just reemphasised it to me. It hurts so much that he loved me so much. I loved him. It was the first time I felt safe in 25 years and I destroyed it. It feels unfair. I know it’s me and my actions but it feels like the I wasnt in control of me. The man who took control from 25 years ago still is controllong me. I cry every morning over it. X

        Liked by 1 person

        1. This all sounds devastating. And it sounds even more crucial that you get help from a well trained therapist so that you are not completely alone. These are not just words, I have had a very traumatic life. Everything you say I grasp with an understanding. And I know that whatever you do has to be in your timing and in your way. Your feelings are all valid and understandable. This is YOUR life and YOUR path. All that I or others can do that is helpful and not harmful to you is to help you keep your own power, make your own choices, and encourage you to take care of yourself. As you look at your life, how would you feel if this was a friend or someone you loved? We need help because we internalize everything in ways others do not understand. We loathe ourselves because we were treated in ways that are not humane. Watching this video, while painful, can help you to see that your reactions in life and toward yourself are normal for what you have endured. These are not words that can be said just once and we get it. But it is a beginning to help us understand ourselves. Otherwise we just carry on where the abuser left off and no longer need anyone else to tell us we aren’t good enough. We already know this in the very core of our beings. We really are on a mission for truth. And accepting the truth. The truth that these things did happen. And this is very hard to face. And the truth that what was done to us was at the hands of evil people. There is NEVER an excuse for one person to harm another in this way. The branding of the soul burns deep. We can’t find our way out on our own. You have a great deal to work through. I am sorry for your pain and loss.

          Liked by 1 person

  3. Oh my goodness, thank you SO MUCH for sharing this. I needed this so much right now, its a real answer to prayer. It not only helps me understand myself better, I think it may help those close to me to understand me a bit better as well and may help our relationships.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Good video. My trauma comes from being a medic on the front lines in Iraq. most people just can’t understand my C-PTSD so they avoid me altogether. I wrote a book thats available on combatmedic.org that gives people a real look at what fighting a war is about.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I am so sorry for all that you have endured. Unfortunately there are many therapists who don’t understand C-PTSD either. I think one of hardest parts of trauma is the isolaion we are left with. Thank you for sharing your experience. I hope you can find the help you need.

      Like

  5. Reblogged this on mentalmormonmusings and commented:
    This video was amazing! Dr. Langberg, a psychologist from Pennsylvania, explains PTSD from childhood abuse really well. She helped me understand myself better, and I hope that those close to me who I share this with will be able to understand me better and our relationship will benefit as a result. Please watch if you want to understand PTSD from emotional, physical, or sexual abuse.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

