“In Sheep’s Clothing”

In Sheeps Clothing

Yesterday I read this book all the way through. It is THE most important book I have ever read in my life.

It is a very easy read, it is clear and concise, and easy to understand. I think it is one of the most important must read books for everyone, for several reasons. Most of us don’t learn enough about these people until it is too late. And when our lives have been crushed by these types of people, we are left spending years trying to pick up the pieces because we can’t accurately understand what happened to us… we often can’t put it all into perspective.

This book helps you to see yourself in a very painful, but honest way. He not only tells you about manipulative people, but clearly explains the tactics they use, how to spot them, and how to deal with them.

Reading this book is a “light bulb moment” for any victim of such people. It is extremely helpful for viewing our own character in a very honest, accurate, and undeniable way. This book is for anyone with a conscience, even a small one. Dr. Simon helps you with your own character as well as to help protect you from others’ manipulative and destructive behavior.

A great deal of the anxiety and fear that I live with is that I don’t feel as though I have the means to protect myself from such people; how to recognize them or how to deal with them. This book takes all the mystery out of these issues.

Unfortunately, many Christian teachings encourage victims to stay in abusive relationships. Often friends and family make excuses for these types of behaviors in others. And as Dr. Simon points out, much of the old belief systems within psychology itself has only served to re-victimize those already wounded by such individuals.

There are many things in society that keep victims in a position of feeling sorry for others when they hurt us. Dr. Simon points out why these are false beliefs and how this is a manipulative tactic used against victims. It is way past time for all of us to wake up to the reality of the motives and tactics used by such individuals. We need to prepare ourselves and our children to survive in a world filled with self serving manipulative people preying on the innocent.

Often when I read a book or article, there are things mentioned that evoke an emotional reaction in me because something doesn’t sound or feel right about what I am reading. I didn’t have a single one of these feelings reading this book.

Dr. Simon’s work is very timely for the type of society we are living in today. In many ways it is a survival guide for the human race.

I believe this book should be required reading for everyone. Here is a link to the book on Amazon:

In Sheep’s Clothing: Understanding and Dealing with Manipulative People

The following are links to several other books I will be reading next written by Dr. Simon, if you are interested:

Character Disturbance: the phenomenon of our age

How Did We End Up Here?: Surviving and Thriving in a Character-Disordered World

The Judas Syndrome: Why Good People Do Awful Things

16 thoughts on ““In Sheep’s Clothing”

  1. I’ve been quietly checking in Blue Sky and it pleases me that you are winning, gaining strength. They say knowledge is power and as your understanding grows so does your strength. Some time ago I wrote a poem called Blue Sky, ‘you’ inspired me ! I’ve been waiting for the right time as I didn’t want to hijack your blog and now I wish you to know that you have such inner strength you inspired me to put thoughts into words. Unleash the inner you Blue Sky, seize the day and banish the past !

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Nigel, thank you so much for all of your kind words! And for sharing your beautiful poem with me. Your words of encouragement mean a lot. Fortunately, I do have an amazing therapist to help me process all of these discoveries. She has been on vacation, but I will see her tomorrow. I kept myself busy reading and learning while she was gone… and it has proven to be both a good strategy and very helpful. Again, thank you! I appreciate your thoughtfulness more than I can express!!!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

